We're here to help you 24/7 TOLL FREE
support@betnow.eu Forgot Password?

Recent Preakness Stakes Online Horse Betting Winners

There’s no doubt that baseball is synonymous with spring, but right behind baseball is the Triple Crown and online horse betting. This year’s Kentucky Derby came and went and Always Dreaming was the one who took advantage of the opportunity to thrust himself into the racebook limelight. Next on deck is the Preakness Stakes and with Always Dreaming’s newfound fame, the colt is destined to come into the Preakness Stakes as the absolute favorite. Always Dreaming wasn’t exactly expected to win the Kentucky Derby, but if the steed were to come away with the Preakness Stakes, it would be far from unwarranted.

Latest Online Horse Betting News & Previews

Those who bet on horses will attentively tune in for the Preakness Stakes as Always Dreaming will attempt to become the second horse in the last three years to effectively win the trifecta of online horse betting’s major races, the Triple Crown.  American Pharoah was the last to accomplish the feat back in 2015, and in doing so American Pharoah ended a 37-year drought. It will be interesting to see if Always Dreaming can do something so magnificent, but it’s also not unimaginable to imagine another horse making a push for glory. In fact, over the last couple of years, there have been several Preakness Stakes winners who failed to come up big in the Kentucky Derby. Let’s take a look.

142nd Preakness Stakes – Saturday, May 20th

When: Coverage Begins at 5 pm ET

Where: Pimlico Race Course, Maryland


Live Stream: NBC Sports Live Extra

Purse: $1.5 million

Distance: 1 3/16 miles

Post Time: 7:35 pm ET

Record: 1:53 Secretariat (1973)

Kentucky Derby Losers Who Went on to Win Preakness Stakes

Exaggerator (2016)

In 2016 Nyquist entered the Preakness Stakes as the heavy favorite. Exaggerator had competed against Nyquist four times before, with the latter winning each of those 4 races. But when the Preakness Stakes came around, it was Exaggerator who was able to walk away with glory, all thanks to an explosive start that proved too much for Nyquist to overcome.

Oxbow (2013)

Oxbow came into the Preakness Stakes with the second longest odds to win the race (15-1). These online horse betting odds seemed adequate, given the fact that Oxbow had finished sixth at the Kentucky Derby. Nevertheless, Oxbow went on to win Preakness with 1 ¾ lengths in front, while the odds on favorite and Kentucky Derby winner of that year, Orb, ended up finishing fourth.

Shackleford (2011)

Shackleford put forth an earnest effort at the Derby, but was unable to advance past fourth. Animal Kingdom was the Derby winner and natural favorite, and came within a half-length of surpassing Shackleford for the win.

Lookin at Lucky (2010)

Thanks to an extensive resume, Lookin at Lucky was a heavy favorite to take home the Derby. Unfortunately, a fourth-place finish was subpar for the colt’s standards. Nevertheless, Lookin at Lucky bounced back and won the Preakness by ¾ of a length.