We're here to help you 24/7 TOLL FREE       
Forgot Password?

The Feast of Kentucky Derby Horse Racing Betting Trends

Horse racing betting is reaching its zenith with the 143rd Kentucky Derby right around the corner. Here are a few trends for sportsbook fans who enjoy horse race gambling online.

  • The Blue Grass Stakes, the Florida Derby, and the Champagne Stakes are the Derby prep races which have produced more Run of the Roses winners with 23 each. The Wood Memorial Stakes and the Hopeful Stakes have produced 20 Derby winners each.
  • The Florida Derby has produced four Kentucky Derby winners in the past decade and a half; namely, Barbaro (2006), Big Brown (2008, Orb (2013), and Nyquist (2016). Always Dreaming won the 2017 Florida Derby.
  • The last Kentucky winner who lost his last prep race was Super Save, who lost the Arkansas Derby to Line of David by a neck. The succeeding six Run of the Roses winner all won their final prep.
  • Animal Kingdom is the only one of the last seven Kentucky winners who had two starts as a two year old colt as opposed to at least three. Additionally, Animal Kingdom became to win the Derby to win off just four career starts since Exterminator in 1918.
  • Apollo is the only Derby winner who did not race as a two year old and that was a good 135 years ago. Since 1937, 59 horses have tried – and failed – to win in Kentucky without a race at two since; Bodemeister came the closest in 2012 when he finished second behind I’ll Have Another.
  • Seven horse racing betting favorites have won on to win the Derby in the past 13 years, while Giacomo and Mine That Bird upset the horse race gambling online in 2005 and 2009.
  • Last year, Nyquist became only the second horse to come out victorious in both the Breeders’ Cup Juvenile and the Kentucky Derby. Street Sense was the first in 2007.
  • Four undefeated horses (Smarty Jones in 2004, Barbaro, Big Brown, and Nyquist) have won the Kentucky Derby since Seattle Slew in 1997.
  • 2000 winner Fusaichi Pegasus fetch a $4 million auction price, dwarfing – or should that be ponying? – I’ll Have Another ($11,000), Mine That Bird ($9,500) and Real Quiet ($17,000).
  • The legendary Secretariat holds the record for fastest Kentucky Derby time at 1:59 2/5 in 1973, followed by Monachos who clocked in at 1:59 4/5 in 2001.
  • Mario Gutierrez – who rode I’ll Have Another and Nyquist to victory in 2012 and 2016 respectively – and Victor Espinoza – who led California Chrome and American Pharoah across the finish line in 2014 and 2015 – have won four of the last five Runs of the Roses
  • Gary Stevens, Kent Desormeaux, Calvin Borel, and Espinoza are the four active jockeys with three wins at Churchill Downs.
  • As horse race gambling online fans might remember, Giacomo and Closing Argument combined for the highest exacta payoff in 2005.
  • The horse racing betting favorite has won each of the last four Kentucky Derbies; Orb, California Chrome, American Pharoah, and Nyquist. The last time that happened was from 1972 to 1975.